One to Many - My Meetup Experiences

One to Many - My Meetup Experiences

Technology is a vast and overwhelming field and there are countless possibilities to learn about and explore its different strands. A good thing making the rounds these days over the internet is "Tech Meet-ups". Fortunately, I got the opportunity to attend several of these physical "Tech meet-ups", and this blog is merely a break-down of the whole journey.

As they say, "Firsts are always special".

During the COVID-19 Pandemic, the New Normal involved a hybrid way of living that mixed real-world and online activities. Staying connected and meeting new people suddenly got a whole new meaning and while it was critical to catch up with the new practises, we couldn't help but long for the simpler good old days :)

After the norms had been relaxed for a while, I began to weave the tale of my very First Tech Meet-up.

THE FIRST OF MANY!!

This meet-up was more than simply an event for me because I am from a batch of students who spent a significant portion of their college years at home. It was a way for me to connect with the Tech Faces in the community, learn more about the industry, and draw on the experiences of others. My first meet-up was the "WazirX Connect," which was hosted and organised by Rishabh Bansal.

Nervous + Anxious

This is how I would describe myself just before attending the meet-up. It was my first time attending an event in person, and while firsts are exciting, they also come with some anxiety.

However, as soon as I arrived at the venue and noticed a lot of other (some recognised and some unknown) faces, it struck me that the entire purpose of this get-together was to meet new people and connect with them. Eventually this meet-up became a big success for me.

Screenshot 2022-09-11 at 12.52.53 PM.png

People + Conversations

I took the most incredible memories from the gathering, including the enlightening table discussions and connecting with and meeting new individuals from other areas. I learned that there are many more to come after this event.

I created a video and vlogged some of the best moments from that day-in case you want to check it out, here is the link: youtu.be/XipGicJgIjA

NO TURNING BACK.

"When there is no turning back, then we should concern ourselves only with the best way of going forward"

I felt more confident going to and attending other such events after the first meet-up. Everything seemed "on line" with these gatherings, talking to people, getting to know more about their journeys, mentorship, guidance and so much more.

Connections + Identifying Oneself

I went to a few community catch-ups and get-togethers, and that helped me understand the positives and negatives of tech. More than that, I didn't realise I was knitting the foundations of so many beautiful relationships with people by attending these catch-ups.

I was making connections, but I was also learning more about myself via each of these events. Every time I returned home from one of these meet-ups, I felt stronger and more confident in my identity, and that really made a difference.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-11 at 1.09.28 PM.jpeg

New Perspectives + Safe Space

I can still clearly recall how this Breakout Room Discussion on "Content Creation" at GitHub Field Day in Delhi kept me motivated for the entire month because there were so many fresh viewpoints, thoughts, and ideas presented. We all participated in a Healthy Discussion while these many thoughts shone out on their own. While we appreciated what others had to say, we also made sure to state our own opinions and ways of thinking.

And it also helped me realise that we belonged to a place where we were valued for our thoughts, treated fairly, and accepted; this place was my Safe Space. Being there, where everyone made a point of valuing inclusion, made me happy and fulfilled.

IMG_7505.JPG

MAKING AN IMPACT :)

Impact is the most significant value that a meet-up stands for.

A casual catch-up developed into an insightful and thought-provoking conversation making an impact on all the attendees.

A conference breakout session focused on topics like Diversity, Inclusion, and Technology makes a difference in the community.

Last month, I spoke on "Breaking into Product Management" for Kunal Kushwaha's Community Classroom In-Person Delhi-Meetup, which was the coming back full circle for me for this journey.

Speaking at the event was an absolute honour, but what truly amazed me was how people were so willing and eager to learn and take away the maximum of all the sessions. And I returned home having learned that learning should never cease for anyone because nobody can ever learn everything. Learning is a necessary part of evolution.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-11 at 1.09.30 PM.jpeg

I am aware that getting into the tech sector can be overwhelming and intimidating sometimes, especially when there are so many facets to explore. But one can always catch up by meeting new people, connecting with them and learning from their experiences.